Florida Expands Requirement for Reporting New Hires, Independent Contractors to Department of Revenue
Update Applicable to:
All employers in Florida.
On October 1, 2021, the Florida Statute 409.2576 was amended to now apply to all employers and adds new reporting requirements.
What are the details?
Effective immediately, employers in the state of Florida are required to report all newly hired employees to the Directory of New Hires within 20 days of their dates of hire. The amendment also requires businesses to report service independent contractors who are paid $600 or more in a calendar year within 20 days of the start of the contractual relationship or the first payment, whichever occurs first.
When reporting an independent contractor, a company must provide the individual’s name, address, Social Security number (or other identifying number assigned under Section 6109 of the Internal Revenue Code), the date services for payment were first performed by the individual, and the name, address, and employer identification number of the service recipient. When submitting the information, the company should use the Florida New Hire Reporting Center website established for employers.
For more information, please see the links provided below:
What do employers need to do?
Employers should review the links above and ensure their new hiring process complies with the above amendments.