Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

23 Jun

June 2021 Nevada HR Legal Updates

Posted at



Nevada Paid Vaccination Leave Amended

Update Applicable to:
All employers in Nevada with 50+ employees

What happened?
On June 9, 2021, Governor Sisolak signed Senate Bill 209 into law.

What are the details?
The bill is in effect immediately and will remain active through December 31, 2023. The bill states that employers with fifty or more employees must provide all employees of up to four hours of paid leave to receive their COVID-19 vaccine. Employers who provide a clinic on-premises for employees to obtain the vaccine, as well as employers in their first two years of operation, are exempt from the requirements.

Employees must provide notice of their intent to use the leave at least twelve hours before using the leave. Employees will receive two hours for a single dose vaccine and those that have two-dose vaccines will receive two hours of vaccination leave per injection.

The bill does not exempt any seasonal, on-call, or temporary employees from the coverage of the leave. It also does not exempt any employers that already provide minimum paid leave that is required by the statute.

In addition to creating the COVID-19 vaccination leave, the bill also amends the existing mandatory paid leave law by adding that, after 90 days of employment, leave is available to employees without a reason or requiring the employee to find a replacement. The leave is available for the following uses:

  • Treatment of a mental or physical illness, injury or health condition.
  • Receiving a medical diagnosis or medical care.
  • Receiving or participating in preventative care.
  • Participating in caregiving.
  • Addressing other personal needs related to the health of the employee.

The Office of the Nevada Labor Commissioner will prepare a bulletin concerning the law’s respective provisions, which must be posted by the employer in a conspicuous location in each workplace.  The bulletin is located here.

The bill can be read here.

Articles on the bill can also be read here.

What do employers need to do?
Employers should review the information above and update their paid leave policies to reflect the new requirement.


Get 2 Months Free Admin

Schedule a Business Diagnostic and we'll lock in 2 months free admin when you sign with us.

Get 2 Months Free Admin

Schedule a Business Diagnostic and we'll lock in 2 months free admin when you sign with us.

Schedule Your Live Demo

In just 30 minutes you can see what streamlined HR management looks like.


  • MM slash DD slash YYYY
    We will contact you to confirm a time.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.